Member Matters – January 2020

Rick Pay with John Day Steelhead

Happy New Year!

It’s January which means it is time to nominate new officers for your Flyfishers’ Club of Oregon Board. As required by our bylaws, the proposed slate of officers must be presented to the membership one month before the February election. So, without further ado, your FCO President, Jim Hillas presents the proposed slate of FCO officers for 2020:

President – Jim Hillas

Vice President – Christian Werner

Secretary – Janet Arenz

Acting Treasurer – Jim Hillas

Past President – Teri Beatty

At Large Directors:

Lisa Hansen

Chris Pay

Steve Willhite

Harold Weight

Susan Glen

Mike Radakovich (new)

I’m very grateful that so many of our board members have agreed to stay on for another year, and that we have some new volunteers who are willing to serve the club.

Tight lines,


The FCO welcomes new member, John Bailey!

Mr. Bailey is a Tigard resident who enjoys fishing, photography, and travel. Please welcome him at future Club meetings. We hope to see some of John’s photography in our website gallery! Welcome John!

Time to Renew Your Membership!

Members will be receiving a notice this month from Membership Chair, Rick Pay, reminding you to renew your membership for 2020. Membership is a great bargain! For just $100 you have the opportunity to hear great presentations from experts in fly fishing techniques, epic travels, critical fish conservation issues, fly fishing history, and fishery science. Getting together for our monthly meetings will certainly lead to greater connection with our fly fishing community and solidify plans for memorable fishing trips. Plus we have special outings with chances to hook very large trout. You can check this task off your list and plan for a great fly fishing year by clicking this link to pay through the website –


doug lynch 20

Doug Lynch sketch- Another River